Tinolang Manok (Chicken Soup)

Hello world!

It’s 2017 and it has been almost a year since I last posted anything on my blog. Work and dad’s hospitalisation definitely took up a lot of time from writing anything. Cooking for my dad yesterday was the first ever since I started working in July. I do cook for him but it’s the easy ones like grilling meat. My apologies for not being able to share with you the food that I cooked yesterday as I forgot to take photo of it. Fret not! I still have a photo from when I cooked my first ever Tinolang Manok or Filipino’s version of chicken soup. I actually started cooking yesterday because my dad got tired of eating hospital food and he requested that we bring him food from the outside.

There are many varieties of cooking Tinola but this one that I will be sharing is the one that I grew up eating. My favorite part is that the meat is not dry thus it is not overcooked. One of my biggest pet peeves when it comes to food is dry meat, may it be chicken, beef, pork or the worse one yet, fish. It’s like all the juices and flavor evaporated during the cooking process. Last but not the least, I love how the soup is light which best compliments the meat and the vegetables. Thus, lo and behold, Tinolang Manok.

Tinolang Manok June 9 2016

First taken last 14 June 2016

 

Tinolang Manok (Chicken Soup)

Total prepping and cooking time: 2 hours


Ingredients:

1kg of chicken wings (or any part of the chicken such as neck, feet or drumstick)

1 pc of papaya (cut into bite size pieces)

1 bunch of moringa (malunggay) leaves or sili leaves (removed from stems)

1 small piece of ginger (julienned)

1 bulb garlic (minced)

3 pieces medium size onion (julienned)

1 tspn cracked black pepper

1 ladel fish sauce

½ cup cooking oil

4 cups water

 

Prepping the meat:

  1. Wash the meat.
  2. Remove remaining feathers (if there are any left).
  3. Rub salt thoroughly.
  4. Wash the meat again and set aside.

Cooking Procedure:

  1. Put the cooking oil in the pot in medium high heat.
  2. Fry the garlic until golden.
  3. Add the onions and ginger.
  4. Add meat and wait until it turns light brown.
  5. Pour the water and wait for it to boil in medium high heat.
  6. Add a half ladle of fish sauce and black pepper.
  7. Stir and wait till it boils.
  8. Add the papaya when you are satisfied with the broth. (Add more fish sauce if needed.)
  9. Once the papaya is tender, add the malunggay and wait till it boils.
  10. Serve with rice.

 

Leave a Reply

