Bacon and Mushroom Carbonara (No Cream)

When cooking, nothing beats the natural way, am I right? My very first attempt in cooking carbonara, I always used to use carbonara powder sauce mix that you can buy in the grocery stores and then mixed it with whatever pasta I have on hand. This is way easier especially for a beginner like me.

Then came a day when I brought my extra carbonara to my friends and then one of them suggested that I try the “natural” way of making my own carbonara sauce. It was not an instant thing but then came a day when I happen to find a YouTube video on how to make an original Italian style of cooking carbonara. Here is the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3AAdKl1UYZs . On this video, one of the most popular celebrity Italian chef, Antonio Carluccio (one of my most favorite celebrity chefs), only used eggs, parmesan cheese and a bit of pasta water for the sauce. He did not use the typical cream or milk to make the sauce so it was a lot lighter. Without further ado, here is my version of carbonara: 

IMG_1360
Taken from my Instagram account. I used fettuccine pasta in this photo.

Total prepping and cooking time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 500 grams pasta (fettucine, elbow, spaghetti)
  • 7 strips of bacon ( cubed) / ¼ guanciale/ ¼ pancetta / 3 packets of shredded salmon (can be bought in Japanese stores)
  • 6 whole eggs
  • 1 cup Parmesan Cheese
  • 1 tspn ground black pepper
  • 1 big can of button mushrooms (sliced)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 6 cloves of garlic (minced)

Prepping the Sauce:

  1. Crack eggs.
  2. Whisk.
  3. Put a pinch pepper and 1 cup of parmesan cheese.
  4. Stir.

Cooking Procedure:

  1. Boil water.
  2. Cook the pasta as stated in the package.
  3. While cooking the pasta, fry the garlic,meat (bacon or salmon) and mushroom.
  4. Once meat is cooked, lower the heat.
  5. Add the cooked pasta.
  6. Pour the sauce and a cup of pasta water.
  7. Mix.
  8. Garnish with pepper,parmesan cheese and/or basil. (add if you have extra meat, bacon or salmon)
  9. Serve.

 

 

Leave a Reply

